top of page
Search
  • kevinkwaku

Weekend Update 1/21/2024

Dear M100 Family,


I would like to express thanks to everyone for your patience and flexibility throughout the past week with multiple directors being out at once. With that said, let’s all be mindful of the spread of germs at this time of year and do what we can to keep each other healthy. Here is your Weekend Update!


UPCOMING DATES

Monday, January 22 - WG Rehearsal, 4:45pm-7:45pm

Wednesday, January 24 - WG Rehearsal, 4:45pm-7:45pm

Thursday, January 25 - WG Rehearsal, 4:45pm-6:45pm

Saturday, January 27 - WG Contest @ Dripping Springs HS

Saturday, January 27 - M100 Alumni Meeting

Saturday, January 28 - Sitzprobe (Pit Orchestra)

Monday, January 29-Wednesday, January 31 - Pit Orchestra Tech Week (Pit Orchestra)


IMPORTANT SEMESTER DATES

Friday, February 2-Sunday, February 4 - BHS MUSICAL

Saturday, February 24 - UIL Solo/Ensemble Contest

Saturday, March 2 - Jazz All-Region Clinic/Concert

Thursday, March 21 - BHS Pre-UIL Concert/2024 M100 Show Reveal

Saturday, March 23 - Temple College Jazz Festival

Wednesday, April 10-Friday, April 12 - UIL Concert and Sightreading Contest

Thursday, May 2 - BHS Cluster Jazz Spring Concert

Tuesday, May 7- BHS Band Spring Concert

Wednesday, May 8-Friday, May 10 - M100 Fundamentals Camp

Saturday, May 25 and Monday, May 27 - Texas State Solo and Ensemble Contest


NEW INFORMATION AND UPDATES

SPRING SEMESTER SECTIONALS

ALL ENSEMBLES WILL HAVE GRADED, MANDATORY SECTIONALS BEFORE/AFTER SCHOOL DURING THE SPRING SEMESTER! Each ensemble will create sectional schedules this week. Sectionals are critical to our success for our upcoming UIL performances, so it is imperative that all sectionals are attended and any arising conflicts are avoided.


SECTIONAL SCHEDULE (Week of 1/22/24)


WIND ENSEMBLE

CLARINETS: Monday, 7:00am-8:15am

HORNS: Monday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

TROMBONES: Tuesday, 7:00am-8:15am

SAX/LOW REEDS: Wednesday, 7:00am-8:15am

FLUTES: WILL NEED TO RESCHEDULE

TRUMPETS: Thursday, 7:00am-8:15pm

EUPHONIUMS: Friday, 7:00am-8:15am

TUBAS: Friday, 4:45pm-6:00pm


WIND SYMPHONY

FLUTES: Monday, 7:15am-8:30am

CLARINETS: Monday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

SAX/LOW REEDS: Tuesday, 7:15am-8:30am

TROMBONES: Tuesday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

TRUMPETS: Wednesday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

HORNS: Thursday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

TUBAS: Friday. 7:15am-8:30am

EUPHONIUMS: Friday, 4:45pm-6:00pm


SYMPHONIC BAND

TROMBONE AND EUPHONIUM: Monday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

PERCUSSION: Monday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

HORNS: Tuesday, 7:15am-8:30am

SAXOPHONES: Tuesday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

CLARINETS: Wednesday, 7:15am-8:30am

TUBA AND BASS CLARINET, Wednesday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

TRUMEPTS: Thursday, 4:45pm-6:00pm

FLUTES: Friday, 4:45pm-6:00pm


WORLD’S FINEST CHOCOLATE FUNDRAISER

The M100 will be selling the “World’s Finest Chocolate” as a fundraiser this year! Students will receive a box of chocolate by turning in a signed fundraiser permission slip, which can be found by clicking HERE. Each box contains $60 worth of chocolate, and we cannot accept any partial boxes of chocolate back, meaning that the entire box must be sold or the student is responsible for paying the $60 back. Please click the previous link for more specific information. Let’s see how much chocolate we can sell!


The last day of the fundraiser is this Thursday, January 25! SELL SELL SELL!


2/17 AJ HOWARD MEMORIAL 5K (VOLUNTEERS NEEDED)

Please click HERE to view information regarding the annual AJ Howard Memorial 5K event that will be held on Saturday, February 17, 2024!


1/23 PIT ORCHESTRA REHEARSAL

To make up for last week’s canceled pit orchestra rehearsal, we will be scheduling an additional rehearsal this week on Wednesday, January 23 from 4:45pm-7:00pm. (The WE Flute sectional will be rescheduled.)


1/28 M100 ALUMNI MEETING

There will be an M100 Alumni meeting on Saturday, January 27th at 10:00am. We will be discussing plans for potential events during the upcoming semester!


2/5 BAND BOOSTER MEETING

There will be a band booster meeting at 6:30pm on Monday, February 5. Incoming 9th grade parents will be invited to attend to discuss what to expect with the transition to high school band and how they can help support the boosters next year!


PREVIOUS INFORMATION AND UPDATES

2024 SOLO AND ENSEMBLE CONTEST

Our UIL Solo/Ensemble Contest will occur on Saturday, February 24 (location TBD, either Temple College or Temple HS). Students will need to prepare their solos and ensembles outside of class time in order to prepare for the contest.


STUDENTS PERFORMING A SOLO - Students performing a solo will have two rehearsals with your piano accompanist. Please be prepared to work with your accompanist by the week of Monday, January 29. As in previous years, accompanist fees will be $50 and checks will be made out to the “Belton Band Boosters”.


2024 BHS MUSICAL

We will begin our rehearsals for the 2024 Musical, “The Little Mermaid”, beginning next Tuesday, January 9. These rehearsals will occur in the band hall. Rehearsal and performance dates are listed below.


REHEARSALS (All from 4:45pm-7:00pm)

Tuesday, January 9

Thursday, January 11

Tuesday, January 16

Thursday, January 18

Tuesday, January 23

Wednesday, January 24

Thursday, January 25


SITZPROBE REHEARSAL

Sunday, January 28, 1:30pm-until finished (approx. 6:30pm)


TECH WEEK (4:45pm until finished, approx. 7:30pm)

Monday, January 29-Wednesday, January 31

Thursday, February 1 (During the school day, details TBD)


PERFORMANCES

Friday, February 2, 7:00pm

Saturday, February 3, 2:00pm

Saturday, February 3, 7:00pm

Sunday, February 4, 2:00pm


M100 REMIND FOR 2023-2024

Remind is an app used to send out pertinent info and updates to M100 families and members. Follow the instructions below to join the 2023-2024 M100 Remind.

Join with the Remind app or text this code to 81010 - @m1002324

443 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page